Thursday, February 01, 2018

Tähtivaeltaja Award Nominees 2018

The shortlist for the Tähtivaeltaja Award has been announced. This year no less than four of the five nominees are Finnish — this is a first (as far as I can remember).

The nominees are:

  • Verso by Tuomo Jäntti (Gummerus)
  • Mehiläistie by Heikki Kännö (Sammakko)
  • Pinnan alla pimeä by Jukka Laajarinne (Atena)
  • Luukellot (The Bone Clocks) by David Mitchell (Sammakko)
  • Tuomiopäivän karavaani by Jani Saxell (WSOY)

The Tähtivaeltaja Award is given annually to the best science fiction book published in Finland during the previous year. The jury is: journalist Hannu Blommila, editor Toni Jerrman, critic Elli Leppä, and critic Antti Oikarinen. The winner will be announced in May.

Finlandia Award Nominees 2018

The Finlandia Award nominees for this year have been announced, and there are a couple of familiar sfnal names in the mix. Magdalena Hai’s K...