Sunday, April 01, 2007

Tähtivaeltaja Award Nominees

The Tähtivaeltaja award is given annually to the best science fiction book published in Finland during the previous year—it can be a novel or a short story collection; a translation or an original Finnish work. Tähtivaeltaja-award is given by the Helsinki Science Fiction Society which is also behind the Tähtivaeltaja semiprozine. Of the sf books published the previous year five best books are selected for the short list. The winner is chosen by a jury of experts.

The nominees for the best science fiction book published in  Finland in 2006 are:

  • Steve Aylett: Atomi (Atom)
  • Stepan Chapman: Troikka (The Troika)
  • Benoît Duteurtre: Tyttö ja tupakka (La petite fille et la cigarette/The Little Girl and the Cigarette)
  • Michel Houellebecq: Mahdollinen saari (La possibilité d'une ile/The Possibility of an Island)
  • J. Pekka Mäkelä: Alshain (an original Finnish novel)

The winner will be announced in May at the Tähtivaeltaja day minicon.

(Thanks to Toni Jerrman for the info.)

No comments:

Finlandia Award Nominees 2018

The Finlandia Award nominees for this year have been announced, and there are a couple of familiar sfnal names in the mix. Magdalena Hai’s K...